1Foundation and beneficiaries
analysisINGBE Stiftung is identified under Liechtenstein register FL-0002.485.176-0 and LEI 52990013YXZLE4OM3533, with creation on 9 September 2014. Its legal seat is Vaduz; the correspondence and headquarters address is c/o MUTUAL CONSULTING ESTABLISHMENT, Kirchstrasse 6, Schaan. One directory summary inconsistently calls Schaan the legal headquarters, while its register section and LEI-derived record distinguish the two addresses. 1 2
documentedINGBE Stiftung is a Liechtenstein foundation, register FL-0002.485.176-0, established on 9 September 2014. Its legal seat is Vaduz and its correspondence/headquarters address is c/o MUTUAL CONSULTING ESTABLISHMENT, Kirchstrasse 6, Schaan. The retained directory lists Robert Schimanko, Michael Hagen and René B. Ott in its management summary and records the removal of René Ott on 5 February 2025 and Simon Alexander Ott on 30 December 2025. 1 2
- qualification
- The directory inconsistently labels Schaan as the legal headquarters in one summary; its register section and retained LEI data distinguish Vaduz from Schaan. The summary name René B. Ott must not automatically be equated with the removed René Ott. Publicly accessible material here does not disclose a complete founder or beneficiary register.
documentedThe retained LEI-derived record identifies INGBE Stiftung under LEI 52990013YXZLE4OM3533 and Liechtenstein register FL-0002.485.176-0, creation date 9 September 2014. It records Vaduz as legal address and c/o MUTUAL CONSULTING ESTABLISHMENT in Schaan as headquarters, with LEI initial registration on 12 October 2017 and issued status after its 24 August 2026 update. 2
- qualification
- A parent-reporting exception does not identify the foundation’s beneficiaries or prove the absence of an influential person. This is retained provider data, not a newly verified live GLEIF lookup.
analysisThe retained management summary lists Robert Schimanko, Michael Hagen and René B. Ott, but separate notices record the removal of René Ott in February 2025 and Simon Alexander Ott in December 2025. The names René B. Ott and the removed René Ott are not automatically treated as the same person. A complete public founder and beneficiary register was not retained. Stapf’s report identifies Ingeborg and René’s descendants born within marriage as beneficiaries and describes influence by René; these are separate from a registered personal ownership interest in the foundation. 1 2 3 4
attributedStapf’s March 2025 report, as retained in reporting, identifies INGBE Stiftung’s beneficiaries as Ingeborg Benko and René Benko’s descendants born within marriage, and describes the foundation as an instrument for managing René Benko’s business activities and investments. 3 4
- qualification
- A description of influence is separate from legal beneficiary status. In later proceedings Benko’s side maintained that INGBE’s money was not his.
- response
- Benko and his lawyer argued that the foundation’s money belongs to its beneficiaries rather than to him.
- outcome
- In June 2026 the Liechtenstein appellate court lifted an interim restriction; further recourse was possible.
sources in this section
- Corporate registry source · s-d205 identified by category only · Corporate registry
- Corporate registry source · s-d324 identified by category only · Corporate registry
- Media source · s-d224 identified by category only · Media
- Media source · s-d186 identified by category only · Media
2Gold, cash and the 2025 sale
analysisThe retained asset accounts report gold worth more than EUR 81 million at the end of 2021 and approximately EUR 45 million in summer 2022. Gold and cash were held with LGT Bank, VP Bank and Liechtensteinische Landesbank. The account gives CHF 1 million cash at each bank and USD 1 million at VP and LLB, plus over EUR 23 million of bank balances at the end of June 2022. Different valuation dates must remain distinct, and custodianship does not make a bank responsible for a client’s alleged conduct. 1
analysisA retained April 2025 account reports the sale of more than 360 kilograms of gold on 11 March for about EUR 30 million, credited to a Liechtenstein bank account, followed by a suspicious-transaction report on 14 March. Prosecutors suspected that practical asset-relocation motives rather than investment considerations drove the sale. INGBE’s legal representative rejected that assessment and all allegations. The account does not establish that proceeds actually left Liechtenstein or that money laundering occurred. 1
sources in this section
- Media source · s-d259 identified by category only · Media
3Villa shares and creditor disputes
analysisLuxembourg’s official filing records INGBE receiving all Villa Eden Gardone shares from 18 August 2023 and Holding retaining none; it discloses no consideration. Later administrator and investigative accounts disputed the adequacy of the Prime shares reportedly received in exchange. The Holding estate’s approximately EUR 46.4 million INGBE dispute ended in a confidential judicial settlement by May 2026; terms and merits were not disclosed. The detailed transfer, price and claim chronology is explained in the Holding–INGBE relationship page. 1 2 3 4 5 6
attributedSIGNA Holding administrator Christof Stapf alleged that an August 2023 circular exchange transferred valuable Lake Garda villa-company holdings towards INGBE Stiftung, while SIGNA Holding received shares in another Signa company that he considered worthless. His reported account attributes instructions to René Benko and a Signa manager and says no cash moved in the exchange. 4 5 6
- qualification
- This is the administrator’s allegation in an avoidance dispute, rather than a court finding of misconduct. The exchanged shares were a Signa-company investment held by INGBE, not an ownership interest in the foundation itself.
- response
- Benko has denied criminally relevant participation; his lawyer later said the proposed artwork-for-villa exchange was never executed. That defense concerns the subsequent proposed exchange and must not automatically be treated as a denial that the August 2023 villa transfer occurred.
- outcome
- By May 2026 the Holding estate’s approximately EUR46.4 million Ingbe dispute had ended in a confidential judicial settlement; its terms and merits were not disclosed.
attributedA retained August 2026 investigation account says SIGNA Holding transferred Villa Eden Gardone Beteiligung S.à r.l., owner of six Lake Garda villas, to INGBE in August 2023 for EUR 46.3 million, set off against Signa Prime shares. Investigators considered Prime materially insolvent from 31 March 2022. 5 6
- qualification
- The price and earlier insolvency assessment are allegations in the reported police account, not figures contained in the separate ownership filing or a judgment. The villa company is distinct from the hotel company sold to Lehmann.
- response
- Benko denies criminally relevant involvement; his lawyer says the later proposed artwork/villa exchange was not executed.
- outcome
- By May 2026 the Holding estate’s approximately EUR46.4 million Ingbe dispute had ended in a confidential judicial settlement; its terms and merits were not disclosed.
attributedBy May 2026 Stapf reported EUR 8.7 million recovered and roughly EUR 160 million claims still pending, including EUR 9.2 million concerning TPA, about EUR 5 million against Alfred Gusenbauer and his company, EUR 396,000 against Karl Samstag and A&I, about EUR 74 million against Laura Privatstiftung, and EUR 11.7 million against Herkules Holding. BDO settled for EUR 1.4 million; the EUR 46.4 million Ingbe dispute ended in a confidential judicial settlement. 6
- qualification
- Claim sums and recoveries are procedural snapshots. Confidential settlements do not disclose merits or all paid sums, and claims pending against Laura were interrupted by its insolvency.
- response
- Herkules Holding disputed the EUR 11.7 million claim; terms of the Ingbe settlement were confidential.
- outcome
- BDO reached a EUR 1.4 million settlement; Ingbe’s EUR 46.4 million dispute ended in a confidential settlement. Laura claims were lodged in its insolvency and Herkules contested its claim.
analysisA subsequent artwork-for-villa-share proposal was a different event: Benko’s lawyer says that exchange was never executed and denies criminally relevant participation. The separate January 2024 Basquiat sale remains distinct. A further, personal-insolvency proceeding produced the June 2026 lifting of an INGBE interim asset/founder-right restriction, with recourse possible. That interim result is separate from the Holding estate’s confidential civil settlement and does not settle every transfer allegation. 5 7
attributedA June 2026 account of the Liechtenstein appellate ruling reports reversal of an interim Ingbe freeze of about CHF 50 million and restoration of Ingeborg Benko's exercise of founder rights. Grabenweger was ordered to pay about CHF 317,000 costs, CHF 164,000 to the foundation and CHF 153,000 to Ingeborg, with further appeal possible. 7
- qualification
- The June appellate ruling lifted an interim measure and allowed further appeal; it does not determine final ownership or resolve every creditor-access argument.
- response
- Benko’s side said the foundation’s assets were not his; the administrator disputed that position.
- outcome
- The interim freeze was lifted, with costs imposed and a further Liechtenstein appeal possible.
sources in this section
- Corporate registry source · s-d154 identified by category only · Corporate registry
- Company statement source · s-d124 identified by category only · Company statement
- Corporate registry source · s-d114 identified by category only · Corporate registry
- Media source · s-d224 identified by category only · Media
- Media source · s-d309 identified by category only · Media
- Media source · s-d174 identified by category only · Media
- Media source · s-d186 identified by category only · Media
Recorded connections
- Ingeborg Benko to Ingbe StiftungFormal principal founder and beneficiaryreported · Period not established · current or historical not established
- SIGNA Holding GmbH to Ingbe StiftungAlleged seller of Luxembourg villa-holding companyreported · Period not established · current or historical not established
- Signa Prime Selection AG to Ingbe StiftungBorrower (EUR15m loan subject to preference allegation)reported · Period not established · current or historical not established
- SIGNA Holding GmbH to Ingbe StiftungReported transfer of Lake Garda holding companiesreported · Period not established · current or historical not established
- Ingbe Stiftung to René BenkoReported indirect funding of residence costsreported · Start not established; no end date established · current or historical not established
- Ingbe Stiftung to Villa Eden Gardone Beteiligung SàrlHolder of all 12,500 shares from 18 August 2023documented · From 18 August 2023; subsequent status not established · current or historical not established
- Ingeborg Benko to Ingbe StiftungFounder rights held by Ingeborgreported · Rights reported February 2025; interim restriction lifted June 2026 · current or historical not established
- SIGNA Holding GmbH to Ingbe StiftungEstate claimant; confidential judicial settlementreported · Judicial settlement reported May 2026 · historical
- Ingbe Stiftung to Andreas GrabenwegerRespondent to administrator’s interim-measure applicationreported · Interim measure reversed June 2026; appeal possible · current or historical not established
- Ingeborg Benko to Ingbe StiftungFounder-rights holder and reported beneficiaryreported · Reported June 2026; interim restriction lifted · current or historical not established
- René Benko to Ingbe StiftungReported source of foundation funds; founder status not establishedreported · Reported historical funding; exact transfers not specified · current or historical not established
- Ingeborg Benko to Ingbe StiftungReported beneficiary; control not impliedreported · Reported June 2026 · current or historical not established
- Robert Schimanko to Ingbe StiftungFoundation council memberreported · Reported from late 2024; last retained listing 2026 · current or historical not established
- Michael Hagen to Ingbe StiftungFoundation council memberreported · Listed in retained 2026 management summary; start unknown · current or historical not established
- René B. Ott to Ingbe StiftungFoundation council member named in management summaryreported · Listed in retained 2026 summary; separate René Ott removal dated 2025-02-05 · current or historical not established
- Ingbe Stiftung to MUTUAL CONSULTING ESTABLISHMENTCorrespondence address c/o service providerreported · Retained 2026 address · current or historical not established
- SIGNA Holding GmbH to Ingbe StiftungTransferred villa-company shares in reported exchange for Signa shares held by INGBEreported · 2023-08 exchange · historical details →
- SIGNA Holding GmbH to Ingbe StiftungAvoidance claimant against INGBE; EUR 46.5 millionreported · Filed late 2024; EUR 46.5 million reported March 2025; EUR 46.4 million dispute ended in confidential judicial settlement by May 2026 · historical
- René Benko to Ingbe StiftungAlleged practical influence over foundation business activityreported · Administrator account 2025-03 · current or historical not established
- Ingeborg Benko to Ingbe StiftungReported foundation beneficiaryreported · Reported 2025-03 and later 2026 · current or historical not established
- SIGNA Holding GmbH to Ingbe StiftungBought Signa Prime shares from INGBE in reported transactionreported · Reported before Holding insolvency 2023 · historical
- Ingeborg Benko to Ingbe StiftungReported co-founder and beneficiaryreported · Reported 2024; later founder rights contested · current or historical not established
- René Benko to Ingbe StiftungAlleged practical influence over INGBEreported · Alleged in 2025 investigation · current or historical not established
- Ingbe Stiftung to LGT BankHeld reported gold deposits and cash with LGT Bankreported · Historical reported 2021–2022 · historical
- Ingbe Stiftung to VP BankHeld reported gold deposits and cash with VP Bankreported · Historical reported 2021–2022 · historical
- Ingbe Stiftung to Liechtensteinische LandesbankHeld reported gold deposits and cash with LLBreported · Historical reported 2021–2022 · historical
- SIGNA Holding GmbH to Ingbe StiftungSeller in alleged EUR 46.3 million villa/share exchangereported · Reported exchange 2023-08 · historical
- Ingbe Stiftung to Laura PrivatstiftungBuyer of Basquiat from Laura; separate planned villa/artwork exchange not executedreported · Proposed exchange 2023-10–2023-11; separate purchase 2024-01 · current or historical not established
- René Benko to Ingbe StiftungAlleged de facto control; deniedreported · Reported investigation; period not precisely established · current or historical not established